top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

The Christmas Story: part four (blogmas day nineteen)

Luke 2:41-52 says, "Now his parents went to Jerusalem every year at the Feast of the Passover. And when he was twelve years old, they went up according to custom. And when the feast was ended, as they were returning, the boy Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem. His parents did not know it, but supposing him to be in the group they went a day's journey, but then they began to search for him among their relatives and acquaintances, and when they did not find him, they returned to Jerusalem, searching for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions. And all who heard him were amazed at his understanding and his answers. And when his parents saw him, they were astonished. And his mother said to him, 'Son, why have you treated us so? Behold, your father and I have been searching for you in great distress.' And he said to them, 'Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father's house?' And they did not understand the saying that he spoke to them. And he went down with them and came to Nazareth and was submissive to them. And his mother treasured up all these things in her heart. And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man."

 

Last Friday, you read about the shepherds rejoicing, and I told you we need to finish off this year strong! Recently, I received Emma Mae Jenkins book called Be Loved as a Christmas present from my Gigi. When I began reading it, I saw just how much Emma loves the Lord, and how she always wants to spend time with Him. It's very encouraging to go from reading her book to reading the Bible verses above.

Jesus was twelve years old, and yet, he didn't do what most twelve year old boys do. No, he didn't spend his time playing video games, or doing things for himself. He spent his time in the house of the Lord. He knew and knows who his Heavenly father is, and it's just so amazing how He spent His time in God's house.

When Mary and Joseph finally found Jesus, they were astonished to see that He was in His father's house all along. They had been looking for him, and Jesus asked why they hadn't known where he was all along.

Today, what do we spend our time doing? What were you doing ten minutes ago before you clicked on this link, and started to read this post? What were you spending your time doing?

The majority of people, if they were asked that question, would say they were on their phone, or they were playing video games, or watching T.V. There's so much technology all around us that sometimes we forget why we are here!

I know last week I said I was going to continue the conversation I was writing about, but I feel like that conversation is over, and now I need you to rest in God's presence. If you have not already read Hannah Grace's blog post from last Thursday, you need to read it now before you continue on: https://miribrooks1.wixsite.com/quoted/post/rest-in-his-presence-blogmas-day-thirteen

Picture found on Pinterest; drmichellebengtson.com


I feel like this holiday season really gives us a chance to rest. Most of us probably have a two week break, and you need to use that two week break to your advantage. If you have time to rest in the Lord, do it.

Just like HG wrote in her blog post, "What does resting in His presence look like? It looks like taking time out of your day (usually about 10-15 minutes) to just sit and listen to Him." Bam! You even have a time limit of rest if you need one. If you're so busy that you absolutely, positively need a time limit so you can go back to your work or homework, there you go! Rest for 10-15 minutes.

In Emma's book, she writes, "The Bible is truth, and it's so important to know who he is and who he says I am, because I know the moment I walk out of my door to enter the day, I will be told many lies about who he is and who I am. His Word is where my identity is found and rooted, and the more I spend time with him in his Word, the more I become familiar with the sound of his voice. (Be Loved, Chapter two)"

Wow! Aren't those words just so powerful?! They make me so happy, and what she writes is so full of encouragement, and so true!

Emma goes from starting off her day resting in His presence so she won't be impacted by the lies that the world will throw at her. She might still be impacted by those words because she's just human, but she will know who she is in the Lord, and who He is. She will know what she needs to believe, and listen to. She knows the truth.


 

Do you see what my point is now? Resting in the Lord's presence, especially before you step out of your room, and start your day is so important! Before you go, I want you to read one more quote from Emma's book that really just made me begin to think deeply. Emma writes, "Jesus wants us to imitate him in how we live (1 John 2:6). So I wake up early in the morning, before school, and go to a quiet place to be with him before I'm with anyone else. This is not always comfortable, but it's worth it. As Pastor Chris Hodges says, "Before I check my social media, I am looking to God's media." It is essential. (Be Loved, Chapter two)"

When I first read that quote, I was thinking, "Wow!" I have thought about waking up to be with the Lord early in the morning before school, but I never did that only because I already don't like waking up early in the morning, so why wake up earlier than 5:16 to be with the Lord? I already spend time with him throughout the day, so why do it so early? I need my beauty sleep, after all!

Well, now I see that was an excuse to not start my day in God's Word. You see? The devil placed this thought in my mind that I didn't need to wake up earlier than my alarm to spend time with God because what would be the point? Well, the point would be starting my day off with the Lord, so, just like Emma, I won't be overwhelmed with the lies of the world because I know God is with me.

 

As Jesus spent his time in his Father's house, and Emma spends her time with God before she wakes up to the world, so can you. Go, in peace, and rest in His presence.


"Be still." -Psalm 46:10

Thank you so much for coming along with me for the journey of blogmas this month! I really hope you enjoyed it, and please fill out the google forms below and let me know what you thought of it! May God bless you today, and have a Merry Christmas! ~Ella




12 views
bottom of page