top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

I LOVE READING (so here's what I read in April)

Hey there and welcome back to The Quoted Blog! This month I read some pretty good books, and I'm going to share them with you. Let's get into it!


 
In March, I read 7 books.

1. After The Woods: written by Kim Savage- finished April 9th


I actually picked up this book randomly at 2nd and Charles on my birthday. And, I didn't read the synopsis until I got home, so I had no idea what it was about at first.

To be honest, it wasn't as good as I thought it would be. On my Goodreads (you can follow me here: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/105221730-ella-catherine) I gave this book two stars. I think on average it has about three stars.

I hate giving books two or three stars because I know how hard it is to write a book, and how much work it is, but some books just aren't amazing. When I say that I mean plotwise, characterwise....There are a lot of things to judge when it comes to reading a book.

Anyway, would I recommend this book? Not really. It was slow going, and wasn't the best book I've ever read. But, if you want to give it a try, go ahead!


2. You'll Be The Death of Me: written by Karen M. Mcmanus- finished April 13th


This book was super good, but if I were to recommend any of Karen's books, it would for sure be The Cousins. But, I highly recommend this one if you want a good, suspenseful mystery!


3. So This Is Love: written by Elizabeth Lim- finished April 15th


If you ever wondered what would happen if Cinderella didn't try on the glass slipper, then this is the book for you. I rarely ever read fantasy books, but my best friend Meredith recommended this one to me and I loved it! It was really cute, and very interesting.

I highly recommend this one too!!


4. Wilder Girls: written by Rory Power- finished April 17th


So, I was in 2nd and Charles one day (ha it seems like I go there a lot lol) and this book caught my eye. Mainly because of the cover. I think the cover of this book is my favorite book cover I've ever seen.

Anyway, there is one thing about this book I didn't realize until after I had gotten home and finally decided to read it...if you look it up you'll see what I mean. But, anyway, after reading mixed reviews on this book, I finally read it, and I actually kind of liked it.

I would definitely describe it as creepy, a little gory, and sad, but also interesting.

So, if you want to check it out and give it a read, go for it. But, if you don't read it, at least look up the cover. I'm obsessed with it.


5. Take a Bow: written by Elizabeth Eulberg- finished April 20th


Another book that I found at the book store...This was such a sweet book! It was so good and just an easy read. Nothing super exciting happened, but it was just so good. If you want a light-hearted, cute read, go for this book. And, the main characters are in a music academy so it's about some kids who love singing and music!


6. The Twin: written by Natasha Preston- finished April 26th


Don't even get me started about this book. Like, this book annoyed me so so much.

I started reading it, and I was loving it. The mystery was suspenseful, I wanted to know how it was going to end. And then, spoiler alert, it ended on a cliffhanger. An actual cliffhanger. And the mystery wasn't even solved. The whole plot wasn't even solved.

It made me so mad when I finished this book. The very first thing I did was look up if there was a sequel. And, of course, there is not sequel. The author just decided to leave everyone on a major cliffhanger. And the story did not even end how I wanted it too. It was kinda sad.

If you want to read a book that's good until you finish it and are disappointed, I recommend this one. I'm not hating on it. I loved every bit of it until the very end. But, the ending was uncalled for. Why write a book and not sum up the loose ends? A lot of people on Goodreads were saying it's a waste of time...ummm...


7. Where The Crawdads Sing: by Delia Owens- finished April 30th


I decided that I wanted to read this book because I found out there is a movie based on it coming out this summer.

It was definitely different than I expected it would be, but it was still good. I'm excited for the movie!


 

So, that was everything I read this month! I hope you will go check out some of these books and give them a chance. My favorite book I read in April was probably You'll Be The Death of Me by Karen M. Mcmanus.

Okay, thanks for reading this blog post! Go check out these books! And come back at the end of the month for some more book recs!

By the way, on my Instagram this week I'm posting some book recommendations each day. (@thequotedpodcast) I'll be recommending different books from these! ~Ella

18 views

Recent Posts

See All

should you read it? (books I read in March)

Hi guys! Welcome back to The Quoted Blog! I do blog posts every month where I share every book I read, and what I thought of them, so if you need some good books to read, click this link: https://miri

bottom of page