top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

should you read it? (books I read in March)

Hi guys! Welcome back to The Quoted Blog! I do blog posts every month where I share every book I read, and what I thought of them, so if you need some good books to read, click this link: https://miribrooks1.wixsite.com/quoted/my-blog/categories/everybookireadthismonth

Today I'm going to share everything I read in March! March started off as an iffy reading month, but it quickly started getting better. So, here's everything I read!

(P.S. I ran out of storage place for photos...so I can't share the cover of the books right now.)


 

1. Let The Sky Fall (#1): by Shannon Messenger- finished March 5th

Rating: ⭐⭐


I love the Keeper of the Lost Cities series by Shannon Messenger, and I really wanted to read the Let The Sky Fall series because that was the first series she wrote.

So, I went into this book really expecting to give it five stars, but I did not. I don't know if I just started to get in a reading slump while reading it, or what. But this book was just so slow for me, and I felt like nothing was happening.

Both of my friends who also love KOTLC read this book and said it was not slow. It might have just been when I read it, or how I was feeling in the moment. I don't know. I really wish I could give this five stars, but I just didn't really enjoy it.

Yeah...


2. Daisy Jones & The Six: by Taylor Jenkins Reid- finished March 7th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


The next book I read was in fact my first ever Taylor Jenkins Reid book. I'm working on a blog post right now where I read books recommended to me by my favorite booktubers and authors. The booktuber one is going to come out first, and I hope to have that out by the end of March or beginning of April. But, this was one of the books I read for that blog post.

I won't tell you who told me I should read it just yet, and I'm not going to give all of my thoughts here because you'll have to wait for that blog post.

All I'll write right now is that I really enjoyed this book! (And you should check out the blog post I read it for when it comes out!)


3. Finale (Caraval #3): by Stephanie Garber- finished March 12th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Then I finished the Caraval trilogy. This trilogy gave me a rollercoaster of emotions. A lot of readers will tell you that these three books aren't that great, and you should skip Caraval and read Once Upon a Broken Heart immediately. However, I'm here to write today that you NEED to read Caraval before Once Upon a Broken Heart. Both trilogies are phenomenal. Both trilogies are super easy to get through.

And I love them.

I love them so much.

Can't believe I have to wait until November to read A Curse for True Love. Not sure how I'm going to be able to wait...but...

And, if you're going to read Once Upon a Broken Heart, keep in mind that Jacks is the best character. More on that in a minute.


4. Dance of Thieves (#1): by Mary E. Pearson- finished March 14th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I read the Remnant Chronicles earlier this year, and I absolutely loved that trilogy. So, for my book club with my bestie Meredith, we read Dance of Thieves, which is a spin-off duology of the trilogy.

I've heard so many good things about this book, and honestly it just lived up to the hype. I love it. I thought it was really good. Such a heartwarming story. I'm excited to read the next book in April! (Also, March marks my fantasy era because I read a lot of fantasy.)


5. Vampires, Hearts, & Other Dead Things: by Margie Fuston- finished March 17th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Yet another five star read!!

I'm going to be a senior next year, which means I'm graduating high school next year...and a lot of people like to go on senior trips after graduating.

Ever since I watched The Vampire Diaries and read the books, I've wanted to visit Covington, Georgia to see where the show was filmed. So, I've been planning a trip for next year to do that. I'm going to see filming locations from The Vampire Diaries, Legacies, The Originals, Stranger Things, and Sweet Magnolias.

Anyway, I'm extremely excited for that. But, when I started planning for that trip, I really got in the mood to read a book about vampires.

I actually bought this book randomly one day at Barnes, and let's be honest, I mostly bought it because of the cover (which I'd love to share with you, but Wix decided I download too many pictures) because it's so cute. Yeah, I randomly picked this up, and I loved it!!

One of my favorite parts about this book was the fact that there were quotes from different vampire movies and shows, and it got me so excited when I saw quotes from TVD. Like, yeah. So, I highly recommend this book.

Also, it has an amazing theme.


6. Once Upon a Broken Heart (#1): by Stephanie Garber- finished March 19th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I really wanted to get the next Shadow and Bone book from the library, but someone decided to check it out until March 30th...so...(and there was only one copy available out of all the libraries I live by.)

I read this book. Obviously I read it after watching my favorite booktubers: Sara Carrolli, Destiny Sidwell, and Haley Pham, talk about it in their collab videos.

It's so good.

Jacks is my favorite character.

This book gets all the stars from me.


7. The Ballad of Never After (#2): by Stephanie Garber- finished March 24th

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


So, this book broke my heart, put it back together, broke it again, put it back together, then broke it again...so on and so forth.

I love it, but I'm also very frustrated with the ending, and am ready for November to come to I can read the last book in the trilogy.

Also, I couldn't stand Apollo. That's why I'm so mad. Jacks is the one. Not Apollo. Anyway, if you know you know.

Please go read this book! And Caraval.



 

After finishing The Ballad of Never After, I proceeded to start Things We Never Got Over which is almost 500 pages, and then I went to a Sabrina Carpenter concert and didn't read 100 pages until I got back home. So, I'm going slower on that book than I'd like, but it's okay.

So, that was everything I read in March. I got into my fantasy era and found a new book boyfriend, which I made an art project inspired by because I couldn't help myself. This was a good reading month!

I am still working on a fun blog where I read books my favorite YouTuber's recommended to me, so stay tuned for that. Yeah, thanks for reading this blog! I think my favorite book from this month was definitely Once Upon a Broken Heart.

Also, book three is slowly making progress, and I'm excited for you to meet Willa's character! That's all for now; come back later for a new blog! And check out my podcast to hear me talk with some fun guests! ~Ella




20 views
bottom of page