top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

your favorite crime

Hey guys and welcome back to my blog! Today I'm bringing you the second to last part of the SOUR series! If you've been confused this whole time I've been posting this series, I started this series based off of Olivia Rodrigo's amazing album SOUR. Through each part of this series, I've used the title of each of the songs off the album, and written a blog post out of them. So, if you have not already read the other parts of this series, then go check them out by clicking this link: https://miribrooks1.wixsite.com/quoted/my-blog/categories/sour-series (I'll also link the rest of the series at the bottom of this blog post! The last part of this series comes out next week, then we will be continuing onto a new series!)


 

Your favorite crime is a song about a cheater and a girl who ignored the red flags in the relationship. Never let someone treat you like you don't matter. Never let someone treat you like it's not a big deal if they cheat on you. Never let someone treat you like you're lower than them. Like you aren't beautiful. Like you aren't perfect just the way you are.

I think the world has really messed up the concept of 'being yourself.' We are shown makeup commercials, and pictures of people who have had plastic surgery. And, when people break up with one another, suddenly someone feels bad about themselves.

It's either the idea of someone not loving you that breaks your heart, or the idea that you want to be perfect that makes you look like someone that isn't even real anymore.

To be honest, I looked up the meaning of 'favorite crime' ten minutes ago. I'd been listening to the song for months, and I didn't even know what any of the lyrics meant. But, now I do.

The meaning of this song shows that there is such thing as a relationship that isn't good. There's also such a thing as a person that isn't good, and a place that isn't good, and a movie that isn't good, and a thing that isn't good. When you really think about it, there's a lot of things that aren't good.

Imagine you were dating someone for a whole year, then on New Year's Eve, they broke up with you. How would you feel? Like you didn't matter? Like you were worthless? Would you question all the wrong things, or would you question all the wrong things?


I guess, through this blog post, I wanted to remind you that you are worth it even if you are heartbroken, and that you are beautiful just the way you are no matter what anyone thinks or says. The world is just one big plain mess. It's teaching people that it's alright to change themselves because they want to be someone they aren't. It's teaching people that they are useless without love. That they need someone to love them to make them feel good about themselves.

There are so many reasons why the world can make you feel these things, but there are also so many reasons why the things the world says aren't true.


the world:

  • you aren't worth it

  • you need to be yourself

  • you don't matter

  • you have to love someone to be happy

  • yeah, killing's fine

  • yeah, do that if you want to, it's not like it's bad for you or anything

  • you will never be important

  • I just needed the money, that's all, it's not like you were broke or anything

God:

  • YOU ARE WORTH IT

  • YOU CAN BE YOURSELF JUST THE WAY I CREATED YOU

  • YOU MATTER SO MUCH

  • I LOVE YOU SO MUCH

  • YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL JUST THE WAY YOU ARE

  • YOU DON'T HAVE TO LOVE SOMEONE TO BE HAPPY

  • DON'T HURT OTHERS

  • LOVE OTHERS

  • CARE ABOUT OTHERS

  • DON'T DO WHAT'S BAD FOR YOU, BUT WHAT'S GOOD FOR YOU

  • YOU ARE SO IMPORTANT

  • MONEY ISN'T AS IMPORTANT AS YOU THINK IT IS

  • TRUST ME, AND I'LL GET YOU THROUGH THIS

  • THERE WILL BE BAD DAYS, BUT I PROMISE THINGS WILL GET BETTER

  • I'LL ALWAYS BE HERE TO PROTECT YOU

  • I'LL ALWAYS BE HERE FOR YOU

  • TELL ME ALL YOUR WORRIES AND I'LL HELP YOU MAKE THEM BETTER

  • PLACE EVERYTHING IN MY HANDS

  • I CAN HELP YOU


Isn't it just so amazing how many more things God says about us and to us than the world says? Plus, God promises so much more than just that small list. The world can't even get the words right. (;

If you get anything out of this blog post where I totally didn't really write much about favorite crime, then remember that you don't need to change yourself. You don't need to date someone to be happy. Find your worth in Christ. Find your love in Christ. Let His plan fulfill you and give you strength.


 

Well, we are officially coming to an end with this series. Next week is the last post from the SOUR series! So, go catch up on this series now and get ready for the last post: https://miribrooks1.wixsite.com/quoted/my-blog/categories/sour-series

I really just hope you were encouraged today by my off-track writing. It's hard to stay on one topic, so why not write about more than one?

Also, after you read this post, and all the others in this series, go listen to my new podcast episode! I plan on doing a guest episode soon for season five!! You are loved, thanks for reading! ~Ella


11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page