top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

Finding Nora- a short story (chapter one)

If you're not following me on Instagram, you probably don't know, but I did several polls so that my followers could help me pick out how I would write my next short story.

Every once in a while, I love to start writing new short stories for my blog! They are so fun to do, and it also helps give me more inspiration for my second book, which I'm currently in the middle of writing.

So, follow me on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/thequotedpodcast/

These are the results of the polls I posted- mystery/thriller, enemies to lovers, girl POV, main character names: Jenna, Lily, and Blake

And, this is the first chapter to the short story that I wrote following the results of the polls! I hope you enjoy reading!!


summary: Lily Brooke's little sister, Nora, went missing a few weeks before she met Blake, a handsome, reckless boy who stood in the middle of the road instead of walking on the side of the road.

Ever since then, Lily has been trying to live her life, and not worry about her sister. But, it doesn't take long for worry to creep in when you're missing a friendly face in the house.

With the help of both Lily and Blake, Nora will be found. Or, will she?


(That's the main idea of this short story! Obviously there's going to be more to it, but you'll just have to wait and read to find out what else will happen!)

 

Chapter one

I threw down my backpack, letting out a deep breath. I was tired of school and tired of life. All I wanted to do was fast forward to summer and get some free time. But, as I threw off my school clothes and picked out a comfy outfit, I realized that I wasn’t a superhero. I couldn’t snap my fingers and go forward in time. All I could do was live through every moment until summer finally came. But, the thought of summer being five months away made me want to sleep forever and never wake up.

I grabbed my homework and a granola bar, running up the stairs one at a time. When I made it to my room, I turned on the lights and ran to open the window.

It felt amazing outside, and I wanted to soak up every bit of air I could.

I gathered my books together and sat down at my window seat, looking out of the window. Suddenly, I gasped. There was a boy walking in the middle of the street, and there was car coming down the road towards him!

I threw my homework to the side, yelling out the window, “Watch out!” before running outside as quickly as I could. “Watch out!” I yelled again, running over to the boy and practically running into him just as the car came rushing by.

We tumbled into the grass on the side of the road, and I found myself on top of a stranger.

“I’m so sorry!” I apologized, getting off of him. “That car was about to hit you and my first instinct was to push you out of the way. I guess sometimes I think I’m-”

“Well, I’m sorry that I was standing in the road, but I was there for a reason!” he said, standing up and brushing himself off. There was an angry look on his face. “Maybe next time you should just worry about yourself.”

I stood there, dumbfounded, watching him walk along the road away from me.

Okay…grumpy, are we?

“Excuse me!” I called, running along beside him. “What do you mean you were standing in the road for a reason? Were you trying to…”

“Kill myself?” He looked over at me, and for the first time I really got a good look at his face. He had shoulder length dark brown hair, and brown eyes. He reminded me of Timothée Chalamet with a completely different attitude.

I didn’t say anything, admiring his outfit. He was wearing overalls with a dirty white t-shirt underneath, and he reminded me of a farmer with the brown boots he was wearing.

“Would you scoot over?” I heard him say, and I realized I had been daydreaming. I scooted over, walking further with him.

“Can you stop walking please? I don’t want to get too far from my house.”

“Sure, let me just conveniently stop right here,” he said, walking back over to the road.

“Hey! Stop that! Do you have some kind of death wish or something?”

He chuckled, looking over at me with a grin on his face. He didn’t move, and I walked closer to him.

“Please come out of the road! And tell me why you were trying to kill yourself in the first place,” I pleaded.

“I wasn’t trying to kill myself,” he said, walking across the road and heading towards my house. I had no idea how he knew where I lived, but I didn’t question it. I wanted to know who this boy was and why I found him standing in the middle of the road in front of my house.

“I was just trying to find someone’s house, and I happened to be walking in the middle of the road.”

“Do you not have a car?” I asked, running across the street to catch up with him.

“Can’t afford one. If I need to go somewhere, I like to walk.”

“That car didn’t look like it was going to stop for you. Didn’t you hear it coming?”

“Nope. Guess not.”

“Well,” I pushed my hair behind my ears. “You’re welcome for being saved.” I laughed at my sentence, realizing that it didn’t make sense.

He looked back at me, stopping in front of my house. “This where you live?” I nodded. “That’s funny,” he said, scratching his head.

“What’s funny?”

“This is the house I was looking for. I was looking for your house.”

I stopped walking. “What?”

“1010 Creakwood Drive,” he mumbled, touching the mailbox with my address on it. Then, he turned over to me. “I’m Blake. And you must be Lily.”

I didn’t move, not sure what to say. How did he know my name?


 

And, that was chapter one. Yes, I will be ending every chapter with a cliffhanger! And, I'll also be giving updates on my Instagram as to when each new chapter will be out. With short stories like this, I like to play things by ear and sometimes post new chapters randomly. So, follow my Instagram or sign up for emails on my blog so you know when chapter two is out!

Thanks for reading! Chapter two coming soon... ~Ella

13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page