top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

my top 5 favorite songs and artists of 2022

Hey there! Today I'm going to share with you my top five favorite songs of 2022. This year was definitely a year of music. I listened to music every single day, and I made it a point to know when my favorite artists went on tour or released music and merch.

I also found some new artists this year which was really fun. So, let just get into it! (By the way, this is going to be very hard, so I'm using Spotify wrapped to help me by sharing my top listened to songs.)

Also, I might share some other things like my favorite artists or albums.

 

1. don't come back ~ by Tate McRae

My top song from 2022 was don't come back by Tate McRae. This song is from her most recent album i used to think i could fly. This is probably my favorite song on the album, so it's not really a surprise that it made it to my top five list!

To me, this song is a letter to an ex or someone you don't want to hang out with anymore. And it's kinda just telling someone that you're done with them, whatever the reason, and you don't want them to come back.


2. Idrk ~ by Annie Rose

My next favorite song of the year is Idrk by Annie Rose. This song deserves all the hype. If you didn't know, Annie Rose is my favorite YouTuber, and I've been following her channel for awhile. She is the sweetest, and she is a phenomenal songwriter. I look forward to hearing more music for her in the future!

This song sounds really sad and almost makes you want to cry, but it's just so beautiful. I don't know the exact meaning to this song, but it kinda sounds like you're about to lose someone when you listen to it.


3. what would you do? ~ by Tate McRae

Are we surprised that the next song is also by Tate McRae?

This song is also from her most recent album. And it's kinda like a song that says, "what would you do if I leave and don't come back?"

It's just so good!



4. do all my friends hate me? ~ Mckenna Grace

If you don't know who Mckenna Grace is, what are you doing? I actually learned who Mckenna was at the end of last year when she released her very first song. I saw the music video for Haunted House on YouTube, and I had no idea who she was.

Now I'm in love with her music, and she is such an amazing actress.

If you don't know who she is, you can see her in The Bad Seed Returns, The Handmaids Tale, Young Sheldon, Gifted, and A Friend of the Family...etc.

Anyway, Mckenna has five other songs out, and she's currently working on an EP. We're getting Ugly Crier, a new song, in January.

Her songs make me so happy and I just love them! I am a little surprised that do all my friends hate me made it on this list. I feel like I listened to Haunted House more, but who knows.

Please go listen to her songs! They're so good!!


5. feel like this ~ by Tate McRae

I'm honestly a little embarrassed that this song made my top five. Don't get me wrong, I love it, but...I'm kinda getting exposed haha...so yes, I do listen to songs that are explicit, but I always listen to the clean version. So, I was listening to the clean version of this song the whole year...

Either way, I think this song explains itself. It's for the people who are just having a bad day. Yeah...


(That concludes my top five songs from this year. Now let's move on to my top five artists.)


 

1. Tate McRae

My top favorite singer from this year was indeed Tate McRae. I listened to her music the most according to Spotify wrapped.

Yeah, I don't have anything else to write except I love her music! My favorite song by her will always and forever be Dear Parents, but unfortunately that is an unreleased song.


2. Sabrina Carpenter

Oh my goodness I love Sabrina Carpenter. Her music, especially the songs on her most recent album, emails i can't send, is just SOO good!!

One of the reasons why I'm extremely excited for 2023 is because I'm actually going to a Sabrina Carpenter concert!! I'm super duper excited for that!! And, I'm wearing the green sweatshirt you see in the picture above. It's going to be so much fun!!


3. Lizzy Mcalpine

Next we have Lizzy Mcalpine!! Her album five seconds flat is amazing. And, I'm also going to her concert in 2023!!! So obviously I'm also super excited for that!!

I love her songs because they just have this unique vibe to them. And, her voice is just so pretty!


4. Maisie Peters

Next we have Maisie Peters!! I'm so glad that she made this list of my top five favorite singers.

Honestly, the first time I listened to one of her songs (Cate's Brother), I kinda hated it. I have no idea why, I just didn't like the way that song sounded. But now it just baffles me that I didn't like that song because now I love it.

I get excited every single time one of her songs comes on, and I'm SOO EXCITED for her next album coming out next year!!!!


5. Olivia Rodrigo

And last, but certainly not least, we have Olivia Rodrigo! Last year she was my top singer, but ever since I listened to SOUR every day on repeat, the album slowly dwindled down and stop appearing in my playlists as much.

Don't get me wrong, SOUR is iconic, and I will forever love that album, but I did take a break from the songs and listen to new music this year. I'm ready for the next album which I think we're getting next year! And I just love her music period!


 

I think that is going to conclude this blog post! I hope you enjoyed reading, and come back for more posts before the new year!! ~Ella

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page