top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

I need your help to decide this! // chapter one of The Red Dress

Hey, and welcome to (or back to) The Quoted Blog! Let's just get in to today's blog!


 

If you didn't know, I love writing! But, recently I've found myself in the middle of writer's block. ): So, I'm going to share with you the first chapter to what I want to be my second book. And, I would love it if you could comment down below and let me know if this is interesting! I'm not going to tell you what the 'book' is about, but I am going to share the first chapter, and that will explain a little bit.


Chapter one


Laura looked up as soon as she heard a snicker in the back of the classroom. She knew Tom Davids and Eric Summers were up to something, but she didn’t know what.

Mrs. Manus, her fourth hour social studies teacher, continued reading from her lesson book like she hadn’t heard a thing.

As soon as the bell rang for the end of the day, Laura found herself one of the last students leaving the classroom. As she walked towards the front of the room, she passed by Tom and Eric, and heard them talking about something.

“I dreamed she was handcuffed to a wall and there was a dragon coming to get her,” Tom said, laughing out loud.

“And I could have sworn I heard her last night when I was sleeping. She was crying for help.” Eric thought he was hilarious as he laughed at his own joke.

Laura tried not to cry as she passed by their desks. She knew who they were talking about. They deliberately waited for her to leave just so she would hear what they had to say.

Even still, she tried not to let their jokes faze her. Laura knew that her twin sister, Luna, would be found. She couldn’t stay gone forever. Deep down, Laura knew her sister had to be alive, and she was determined to get to the bottom of what had happened.


Several weeks earlier…


“Mom, I can’t find my red dress! I was going to wear it to our junior prom on Saturday,” Luna cried, running up the stairs quickly. “Miles was going to pick me up, and take me there and everything. We were going to have such a good night, and I don’t want to miss it!!”

“Just wear another dress,” Laura piped up from the couch. “I know you have plenty of other ones.

Luna laughed, “None of my other dresses can be worn to prom. It’s just not possible. I need to find that dress. It’s important!”

“That’s enough about the dress girls,” Mom interrupted, before anyone could begin arguing. “Where was the last place you saw it, Luna?”

“In my room, hanging in my closet. That’s where I put it the day I got it. I don’t understand what could have happened to it.”

“Unless…” Laura looked at her sister, “Someone stole it.”

Luna narrowed her eyes, “Like who?”

“I don’t know,” Laura replied.

Mom wandered downstairs then, motioning for Luna to follow. “We’ll find it. This way.”


Laura shook her head, coming back to the present. She stopped by her locker to drop her books off, and headed toward home.

As she walked, all she could think about was the day Luna went missing. No one knew if she had been kidnapped, ran away, or worse. Somehow, Laura had come to the conclusion that the prom dress mishap had something to do with her sister's disappearance.

She knew that the dress had gone missing the day of prom. What she didn’t understand was, who would have even known about the dress?

Laura remembered when Luna bought the dress half-off at an expensive designer store. Luna had been so excited about the dress, and had talked about how she had tried it on in the store, and knew it fit. Laura knew her sister had hung it up in her closet, as she had said, first thing when she got home. No one knew about the dress, not even her boyfriend, Miles. Luna had wanted to keep her prom dress a secret until the prom. She wanted everyone to be blown away by it because of how in love she was with it.

What’s so important about a red prom dress? Could it have some connection to Luna’s disappearance? Laura asked herself, noticing that she had just passed by Miles’s house on her way home.

She had intended on asking Miles for his help solving Luna’s mystery, but she hadn’t had a real conversation with Miles in who knows when. Every time he had come to their house, he had come strictly to see Luna. He had never wanted to talk to Laura, and she understood why. Luna was his girlfriend, and she didn’t have any reason to talk to Miles in the first place.

But, something told her she would need his help if she wanted to find her twin. She just needed to find out where to start before she could recruit any other detectives.

“Don’t worry Luna,” Laura said to no one in particular. “I’ll find you.”



 

What are your thoughts? Would you want to read more, and find out if Laura ever finds her sister, Luna? Did this chapter make you want to keep reading? Please let me know your thoughts, and any ideas to continue the story down below in the comments! I could really use your help! (By the way, we're getting closer to the release of my first book, Quoted A Guide for Teen Girls!)

I hope you guys can help with this. If not, I will just have to think about it more, but I thought I would share the first chapter with you. Let me know if you want to read chapter two!! ~Ella


(cover image made with canva.com)


11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page