top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

I haven't gotten my drivers license yet, but I know what it feels like to get your heart broken

Hey there and welcome back to my blog!! Today's blog post is the third part to a new series I started. Every week I use a song title from the SOUR album to write a blog post. Go check out the other two parts to this series by clicking the SOUR series button at the bottom of this post.

Today, I'm going to be getting very honest because drivers license is a song about a boy, obviously, and how the girl misses being with the guy. She is heartbroken as she tries to get over her ex who has moved on with someone new. (https://www.republicworld.com/entertainment-news/music/drivers-license-lyrics-and-meaning-behind-this-olivia-rodrigo-song-explained.html)

Quick side note: (I've never had a boyfriend before, so I can't completely relate with this song, but today I want to write about getting over someone that you liked. Maybe they didn't like you back, or you just broke up with them. I hope today's blog post helps you get over them!)


I haven't gotten my drivers license yet, but I know what it feels like to get your heart broken. Okay, so maybe I'm being a little dramatic. It's not like my heart split in half and I couldn't bear the thought of not having a boyfriend. I am perfectly fine single. (Haha I'm listening to music and drivers license just came on!) But, I liked the same boy for like three or four years and he didn't like me back. ): You can probably imagine how that went. It's a whole long story, and it doesn't matter right now.
What does matter is getting over someone you need to get over. So, let's start with some tips and end with recommendations and quotes!

1. If you liked someone and they didn't like you back, it's totally and completely their loss. Maybe they weren't interested (Oh goodness now Let You Go by Joshua Bassett is on. My playlist must be full of songs about getting over boys. 😁) or maybe they just aren't ready for a relationship.

2. Don't let the fact that someone doesn't like you back hurt you. It doesn't mean you aren't worth anything, but it means that it's not time for you to have a significant other right now. It could actually mean that you need to spend more time with God instead of worrying so much about boys.

3. Before you go trying to find a boyfriend, make sure you have a good relationship with God first. Your relationship with God matters more than a relationship that might not last forever. And, to get over someone who doesn't like you, or someone you broke up with, spend time with yourself. Spend time with God. Spend time with friends. Find things to do to get your mind off of them. Also, watch Annie Rose's video about getting over someone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Phpyz2NY3g0&list=PLgpM69P4kj5dUV0cYc4y0ZNG7_Rj4z30W&index=5

Quotes from Pinterest about getting over someone or just boys/girls in general:

-If he is stupid enough to walk away, be smart enough to let him go.
-You need to realize that he doesn't care, and you could be missing out on someone who does.
-We all have that boy. That boy who you're completely over, but you still think about them before you sleep. That boy who you avoid talking to, but still wish he would text you just once. That boy who you have to make yourself not think about, but always wonder
-Breakups hurt, but losing someone who doesn't respect and appreciate you is actually a gain, not a loss.
-The wrong people always teach you the right life lessons.
-No more tears because I didn't lose you, you lost me.
-What if I never forget you? What if, all my life, when I meet someone new, I can never fall for them because they aren't you?
-Little does she know, he thinks about her too (that's a huge plot twist type quote)
-It's okay to cry over him. It's even okay to forgive him, but do not go back to him. If he did not know how to love you the first time, he won't know how to do it the next.
-That one crush that never really goes away...
-Psychological fact: being unable to get someone off your mind indicates that you are also on that person's mind as well. (Woah.)

And even though I'm still trying to get over you, that's all for this blog post. ~Ella

(side note, for this whole series I'm designing blog covers for each post by using pictures from Pinterest and making them on canva.com. I don't own any of the pictures in any of the blog post covers!)
13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page