top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

an escape from the real world - Innocent Until Proven Guilty - the sequel (chapter one)

Hey there and welcome back to The Quoted Blog! Umm...I'm sure you've just been so excited for this! I mean, I did end Innocent Until Proven Guilty on a huge cliffhanger.

So, today I'm here with the sequel. This is called An Escape From The Real World.

I'm not really sure what the title means yet, but I have an idea, and that idea will end up making the title make a lot more sense. I promise. And I think it has a nice ring to it, so it's cool.


The main idea: Lilac, our new main character, just moved into a new house that her parent's surprised her with. And, if you paid close attention to the preview of this short story from the last chapter of Innocent Until Proven Guilty, you would know exactly whose house she moved into. But, if you have no idea what I'm talking about, stick around. You'll figure it out lol.

There was an unsolved mystery at the end of I.U.P.G. So, this short story is going to solve that mystery, but also expand on this new character and her friends and the people she meets. It's not going to be the same as I.U.P.G. at all. There might be a character crossover ofc, but don't expect this just to be a mystery being solved the whole time.

There's a really important detail in this chapter that will sort of explain the title, or foreshadow something that may happen. But, don't ask me about it because I don't want to give anything away haha.

So, now that you have an idea. Let's get into the first chapter! It's short, but it's just the beginning...

 
Chapter one

“So you said you’re going to go get coffee tomorrow morning at nine?” Emery asked Lilac.

It was a Friday, the beginning of August. Lilac had been living in her new house for several days, and she was finally adjusted to her new life.

Ever since she found the hidden compartment and its contents, she was intrigued by the previous owner. She wanted to know why there was a hidden jersey hidden under the floorboard. She wanted to know what it was for. Or who it was being hidden from.

Lilac loved a good mystery, and it had been a while since something interesting had come along.

But, Lilac had to put her mystery on hold at least for another day. She had made plans with her best friend Emery the next day, and her plan was to start trying to solve the mystery later, when she wasn’t busy catching up with friends, or doing other things.

“Yes. Do you want to meet up at Coffee Bean?” Lilac asked, smoothing out her long curly light blond hair.

“Sounds good to me! See you then!” Emery said, hanging up.


The next morning, Lilac was sitting at a table, drinking her lavender latte when Emery showed up.

She quickly ordered and sat down across from Lilac, who was smiling.

“It’s so good to see you!” Lilac said. “How’ve you been?”

“Good, good, good,” Emery said, laughing. “I have been so busy, but I can’t wait to see your new house one day. When will it be clean enough for me to come over?”

Lilac thought for a minute. “Maybe next week. What about it? We can have a sleepover like old times!”

“Oh my gosh! A sleepover! I remember we used to do those every single night in middle school. I can’t believe we haven’t seen each other since high school. It’s kinda actually crazy,” Emery gushed, stopping for a minute to get a sip of her coffee. “Anyway, where are you going for college?”

“I’m actually doing college online this year,” she admitted, looking down at the table like she should be ashamed.

“Oh, and how’s that going?”

“Good, I guess. It’s not easy, but since I want to do other things in life, I thought it would be easier to just do it online.”

Both girls were silent for a minute, then Emery asked, “Are you still sick?”

Lilac slowly nodded. “It’s never been easy.”

“Ohhh…I’m so sorry Lills. Just know I’m constantly praying for you. Every. Single. Day. I’m praying for you girl. Okay?”

“Thanks Emery. That means a lot.”

“I’m so thankful for you,” Emery said, smiling. “So, do you want to fill me in on things I’ve missed?”


It was the evening, and Lilac was laying in bed with her computer on her lap.

She was staring at the screen, almost completely ignoring the fact that Heartland was playing on the T.V. in the background.

She had Googled: schools with blue and white jersey’s with a crow.

It was the lamest Google search ever, but she didn’t feel like trying to rephrase it, so she hit search. And what came up surprised her.

There was a school fifty minutes away from her called Oakwood High, and according to the searches that popped up, the school’s main colors were blue and white. And their mascot was a black crow.

Interesting, she thought. I guess I’m going on a road trip.


 

What'd you think? Are you ready for this short story? If you said "no" to that second question, then I promise I'll change your mind with the next chapters. So, stick around. See how this story will turn out.

And, if you want to read more I've written, I wrote a book. It's available almost everywhere online. And there's an ebook too. Go to Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Quoted-Guide-Girls-Ella-Catherine/dp/1638740585

Or just Google Quoted: A Guide for Teen Girls by Ella Catherine.


Okay, that's it for now. Come back though. Come back in like two days. ~Ella


11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page