top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla

an escape from the real world (chapter four)

(I'm not even joking I just spilled matcha all over myself right as I was about to write this haha.)

Hey guys and welcome back to my blog! Today I'm giving you the fourth chapter of my short story! It's a short one because time is limited and I am afraid that if I try to continue writing it right now, it won't be good enough. Just because of the time I'm writing this. I don't know. This is just how I'm doing this.

So, this is a short chapter, but I promise that you should keep reading after this chapter. (;


 

Chapter four


Lilac brought the paper into her house, confused, but also suspicious. The woman told her she worked for Sunshine Incorporations, and somehow, Lilac didn’t believe her. There was something very weird about that woman.

Lilac didn’t think the woman intended on just checking to see if someone lived in the house. She knew for a fact the woman was about to break in and search for what? The jersey Lilac found under the floorboard? Or something else? Could something else be hidden in her house?

Lilac took another look at the piece of paper the woman dropped.

It was a written note addressed to Scott Patterson. The former owner of Lilac’s house. Archer’s brother.

It’s the last time we’ll ask for it. Deliver the artifact tonight by midnight or you’ll deeply regret it, the note read.

Lilac placed the note on her desk and open up her computer. She immediately clicked on the Google search bar and typed in Sunshine Incorporations.

All she got was an address close to where she lived, and a picture of a building. She didn’t recognize anything about what the search brought up, but she knew what her next step would be.

But first, she had to search her house and make sure there wasn’t anything she had missed. The note said something about an artifact, and Lilac had no idea what it meant. Or why they had addressed the note to Scott when Scott wasn’t even living there anymore. What was Scott doing with his life? Lilac wondered.

Lilac closed the computer and began to search the whole house. She knew it wouldn’t be easy to find whatever she was looking for. If Scott’s buddies had to break into a house to look for it, it probably meant Lilac wouldn’t be able to find it unless she knew what she was looking for.

“I have two options,” Lilac said out loud while she felt along the wall of her bedroom for a secret door or something. “I can find Sunshine Incorporations and try to learn more about why they came to my house, or I can find Archer and tell him about this and see if he knows what Scott was mixed up in.”


 

So, that's chapter four. What do you think? I feel like I'm starting to not do such a good job on this short story which is why it's taking me several days to write new chapters. Haha...chapter five should be here by Friday!! ~Ella


4 views
bottom of page