top of page
  • Writer's pictureElla ...

I READ A LOT (so here's what I read in January 2024) 📖

Welcome to the first blog post of the new year! I'm back to share with you everything I read in January. I had a lot of five star reads and a great reading month in January, so I'm excited to share with you everything I read!


 

1. lover girl: by Raegan Fordemwalt- finished January 1st

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


The first book I read was actually a poetry book. I've been following Raegan on Instagram for a few months now, and I really wanted to read her poetry book because funny enough, mostly all of her poems are relatable to me.

Anyway, I never read poetry books, so this was really fun. I have a list of other poetry books I want to get in the future! And annotating this was extremely fun.

If you're a girl with a crush or a broken heart, this book is for you. (;


2. Keeping 13: by Chloe Walsh- finished January 6th

⭐⭐⭐⭐


Then I picked up the second book in the Boys of Tommen series. I started reading this series because of Destiny Sidwell, and I really enjoyed the first book, but this one...This one just got to be a bit too much for me.

These books are very much not young adult despite the fact that the first one is in the young adult section at Barnes. It's weird because the characters are like 16 & 17, but the language and themes are just shocking. I would not expect a 16 or 17 year old to think or talk like the characters do in these books.

I tried to ignore it and just focus on the story itself, but it was too much. TOO MUCH.

I don't even know if I'm gonna be able to continue the series...


3. Keeper of the Lost Cities Graphic Novel (Part One): by Shannon Messenger- finished January 9th

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Keefe on paper is so silly.

I love this book and I loved seeing all the cute pictures.


4. Renegades: by Marissa Meyer- finished January 16th

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Then I read the most fast paced book ever. This is such a fun book and I enjoyed every moment of it. The action, the characters...I can't wait to finish the trilogy.


5. The Bodyguard: by Katherine Center- finished January 18th

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


My review on Goodreads currently says: "One of the best romance books I've ever read."

And the best part is Katherine Center liked my review.

Do I need to say anything else?

Yes you should read this book.

No there is no spice.

Yes I am writing a book similar to this.

Yes it does remind me of the movie Starstruck.

Thank you.


6. Some Shall Break: by Ellie Marney- finished January 23rd

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Simon Gutmunsson is my favorite character and he shouldn't be.

Ellie Marney is a fabulous writer.

My mouth was open in shock.

I think I should start reviewing books like this instead of explaining everything.

I NEED ANOTHER BOOK.

I NEED TO KNOW.


7. A Court of Silver Flames: by Sarah J. Maas- finished January 27th

⭐⭐⭐


I started listening to the audiobook of this, then I ran out of audiobook listening time, then I picked up Belladonna, then I got bored of Belladonna, then I listened to Cari Reads explain the plot of the last three hundred pages of ACoSF.


I also gave myself like a year to read this before Crescent City 3 came out. And I read it the week before...


Long story short: I tried to give Nesta a chance, but sitting in art class listening to this was difficult when I had to constantly skip chapters. But Cari did a great job of explaining the rest of the book.


 

And that was everything I read in January! I would have finished Belladonna, but I just couldn't finish it because it was a little slow. But I will finish it in February.

In case you were wondering, Some Shall Break was my favorite book from this month. I have not stopped thinking about that book. I legit read the last 100 pages and lost track of TIME. And the page I was on. I love it. I love it. I love it.

OH, IF YOU MADE IT TO THIS POINT, you should BUY MY BOOK:

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MY MARCH READING WRAP-UP

Hey there! Welcome to yet another reading wrap-up!! Here's everything I read in March... 1. Archer's Voice: by Mia Sheridan- finished March 1st Rating-⭐⭐⭐⭐ A beautiful love story. I annotated the heck

READING IS FUN (so here's what I read in February)

Welcome back to Ella Writes!! Today it's time to share with you everything I read in February! 1. Belladonna: by Adalyn Grace- finished February 3rd Rating- ⭐⭐⭐ The vibes were immaculate. I mostly lis

every book I read in August 📖

Hey there and welcome back to Ella Writes! I think you already know what time it is, so let's get into everything I read in August! 1. Unwholly (#2; re-read): by Neal Shusterman- finished August 1st ⭐

bottom of page