top of page
  • Writer's pictureElla ...

writing prompt challenge #1 ~ from Quoted: A Guide for Teen Girls

Updated: May 22, 2023

Hey and welcome back to Ella Writes! Because this blog is all about writing and such, I think it's about time I do a writing prompt challenge!!

This challenge actually came from my book, Quoted: A Guide for Teen Girls, and I decided to share it over here on my blog!

But, you should go buy my book by clicking this link: https://www.amazon.com/Quoted-Guide-Girls-Ella-Catherine/dp/1638740585

Anyway, this is an eight day writing challenge, but I'm only going to share day one because you have to buy my book if you want to see the rest.


 

The first prompt is: write a story about someone who can pause time or relive old memories at will.


So, here's what I wrote...(and the title is inspired by Are You Afraid of the Dark?)


“I call this short story: The Memories of Emily Hunter.”

“Danny! Come quick!” Emily Hunter yelled one sunny Saturday afternoon. She was laying in bed with her computer in her lap, yelling for her best friend, Danny Johnson, very loudly.

“Okay, okay. What is it?” Danny came into Emily’s room, jumping on the bed. “Did you find a new shoe to customize or something?” He smirked.

“No. Even better! I found a new product that allows you to stop time, or go back and relive an old memory,” Emily hugged her computer, “This is gonna be epic. Now, do you have one hundred dollars?” She smiled sweetly, and Danny rolled his eyes.

“You owe me,” he said, handing her a wad of bills. Emily dropped the computer and hugged her best friend.

“Thanks, D! You’re the best.” She grabbed her computer again. “Now I have to buy this. Mom! Can I have your credit card? I’ll pay you in cash.”

“Seems like a waste of money,” Danny huffed, sitting next to Emily so he could see the computer. “It probably won’t even work! Have you even looked at the reviews?”

Emily scrolled down and sighed, “No reviews yet! Looks like I’ll just have to do the first review.” She gave it five stars and typed out a short, but positive message about the product.

“You haven’t even bought it yet! And what kind of name is that? The Time-o-rator?!”

“Don’t be such a critic. It’s going to work, and it will be amazing. I wonder how many shoes I can get from the store and customize while time is stopped? Don’t say another word or you’ll have your finger up your nose,” Emily warned.

“How did we ever become friends in the first place? If this works, you are NOT pausing me!” Danny hopped off the bed and started walking towards the door. “Good luck getting your mom to let you buy that. Remember, you owe me a hundred bucks.”


An hour later, the doorbell rang. “Don’t tell Mom it cost extra for fast shipping,” she whispered to Danny.

Emily opened the box and took out the remote. It had two buttons: one to stop time, and one to relive one day from the past. As soon as she had put batteries in, she pressed the “stop-time” button.

“Wai-” Danny yelled, jumping for the remote. But he stopped mid-air.

“Ha-ha!” Emily started laughing. It had worked! Next, she pressed the other button and told the remote to send her back to the day she was humiliated when someone poured a bucket of slime from a two-story window.

When she was whisked to the past, she paused time and immediately ran to grab the buckets from the kids. She poured it on their heads and looked at the remote.

There was no button to go back home.


 

That's my short story for the first prompt! Please go buy my book to read the rest!! ~Ella




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page